Board of Directors

Sidney Baumgarten, Esq. | Chair

Sidney Baumgarten served as the first Chair of the Board of Directors once NYTC, Inc. became an independent agency in 1979. He rejoined the board in 2005, and once again became Chairperson in 2007. A native of Rockaway Beach, Queens, Mr. Baumgarten has served as an Assistant District Attorney, Law Secretary to a Justice of the Appellate Term, Deputy Mayor, and director of Midtown Enforcement. He became CEO of a medical technology company and remains in the private practice of law. He has also served in the Army Reserves, National Guard and New York Guard, from which he retired with the rank of Brigadier General. Mr. Baumgarten has received numerous medals, citations and awards for his military and civilian endeavors. His community service includes activities in civic, political and philanthropic organizations. In 2003, the military community honored him with a testimonial dinner at which he was also recognized for twenty-five years of service with both NYTC, Inc. and the East Side Chamber of Commerce.


Harry K. Wexler, PhD
Vice Chair

Ronald Lehman, MA
Treasurer

Lisa C. Averyhart, Esq.
Secretary

Gail Burton Allen, MD
Jeremiah C. Gaffney, III, PhD
William Griffin
Will Henry, MSW
Troy L. Nelson
Dr. Larry D. Johnson

Serendipity I (For Men)

2071 Fulton Street
(Near Rockaway Avenue)
Brooklyn, New York 11233
Tel: 718-398-0096
Fax: 347-770-8654
Cesar Sosa, Senior Director
csosa@staynout.org
Clarence Bowden, Clinical Director
cbowden@staynout.org

Serendipity II (For Women)

944 Bedford Avenue
(Between DeKalb Ave. and Willoughby Street)
Brooklyn, New York 11205
Tel: 718-802-0572
Fax: 718-802-9885
Lisa Alexander, Director
lalexander@staynout.org
Luz Santiago, Assistant Director
lsantiago@staynout.org

Brooklyn Outpatient Program

2071 Fulton Street
(Near Rockaway Avenue)
Brooklyn, New York 11233
Tel: 347-770-8650
Fax: 347-770-8649
Susan James, Director
sjames@staynout.org

Queens Outpatient Program

162-64 Jamaica Avenue, Lower Level
(Entrance on Guy Brewer Boulevard)
Jamaica, New York 11432
Tel: 718-657-2021
Fax: 718-657-0299
Luis Ventura, Director
lventura@staynout.org